Men’s Under-19 World Cup schedule – Sri Lanka starts from January 13, India and Bangladesh in Group A

The 2024 Men’s Under-19 World Cup will begin on January 13 with the clash between hosts Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Defending champions India will face Bangladesh to start their campaign the next day.

The 41-match tournament will be played over 23 days at five venues, all in Colombo. R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium will host the opening matches of the tournament, semi-finals on January 30 and February 1 and the final on February 4. P Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club and Sinhalese Sports Club. Other sites.

The top 11 Full Member sides for the 2022 edition have qualified directly, and five teams – Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland and USA – have earned their places through regional qualification events.

“We are thrilled to see the competition return to Sri Lanka for the first time since 2006.” chris tetleyICC event chief said in a release. “Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and Angelo Mathews are just some of the names who graced the world stage at the event, and we are sure this tradition will continue as the drama progresses.”
“Sri Lanka is renowned for its passionate, cricket-loving fans,” Samantha Dodanwella“And we are looking forward to giving them the opportunity to watch some of the most promising young cricketers in the world compete over 23 days of competition,” the tournament director said.

New ‘Super Six’ format for 2024

ICC has also announced the new format. While the 16 teams will initially be divided into four groups of four each, 12 teams will qualify for the second round instead of the first eight. The Super Six stage will consist of two groups of six teams each, with the top four teams advancing to the semi-finals.

Earlier, the top eight teams in the second round were involved in the Super League – which is a knock-out format for the World Cup title – while the bottom eight teams went into the knockouts for the Plate trophy.

Each team will play two practice matches at four venues between January 7 and 11. India, with five titles, is the most successful team in the history of the competition, followed by Australia with three titles. Pakistan has won twice and England, Bangladesh, South Africa and West Indies have won the crown once each.

Leave a Comment