Gill was on 18 in the second innings, chasing India’s target of 444, when he touched Scott Boland’s ball to the left of gully, where Cameron Green dived to take a catch very close to the ground. Gill did not go out immediately and the on-field umpire went to the third umpire without a soft signal as per the new protocol. Third umpire Richard Kettleborough looked at the replay from different angles before dismissing it.
The ICC accused him of breaching Article 2.7 which deals with “public criticism or inappropriate comment in relation to an incident occurring in an international match”. Gill accepted the approval so there was no need for a formal hearing.
With regard to slow over-rates, India were found to be five overs short of the target, while Australia were found to be four overs short, taking into account time allowances.
Rohit had said, “I was just disappointed. I mean the third umpire should have looked at the replay a little more, a little more, you know how the catch was held.” “I think he had seen it three or four times, and he was convinced by it. It’s not about whether it was given out or not, you have to have a proper and clear idea about anything. It’s “It’s not just about the catch. It can be about anything.”