WTC Final 2023 – Rohit Sharma on Green’s low catch: ‘Third umpire should have seen more replays’

captain of india Rohit Sharma Disappointed with the procedure adopted by the third umpire Richard Kettleborough in deciding to rule Shubman Gill out in the last innings of wtc final on Saturday. Rohit feels that the third umpire should have taken more time and looked from more angles before reaching his decision.

“I was just disappointed. I mean the third umpire should have looked at the replay a little more, a little more, you know, how the catch was held,” Rohit said after India’s 209-run defeat on Sunday. “I think he had seen it three or four times, and he was convinced by it. It’s not about whether it was given out or not, you have to have a proper and clear idea about anything. It’s “It’s not just about the catch. It can be about anything.”

Gill Jahan was out while jabbing in the street cameron green He took a diving low catch to his left to end a dangerous opening partnership of 41 runs in India’s chase of 444. The decision was sent up, and in the absence of a softening signal, which has now been finished offKettleborough had to go through several replays before the decision was given in Australia’s favour.

“That was something I was a little disappointed with – the decision was taken very quickly,” Rohit said. “When a catch like that is taken, you need to be more than 100% confident because it is the final and we were at that crucial stage of the game as well. So it was a bit disappointing for me.”

Replays on the broadcast seemed to show that some of the action had gone down between frames, with Green catching the ball under his fingers as it fell to the turf, and then throwing it up in celebration. The big question at that time was whether the ball touched the ground when his hand hit the turf.

Rohit further said, “More camera angles should have been shown.” “Only one or two camera angles were shown. We have got more angles in the IPL. We have got 10 different angles in the IPL. I don’t know why there was no ultra motion in such a world event.” What was seen or any kind of zoomed image was seen. That’s what I was a little disappointed with.”

captain of australia pat cumminsHowever, when asked for his views on the catch, he was quite satisfied with the procedure adopted and suggested that Kettleborough was the best umpire in the world. He was also asked about Green being criticized by a section of Indian fans.

“Passionate fans,” Cummins said. “But I thought it was a fair catch. Green was absolutely screaming and obviously we’re just players, we’re off the field so we leave it in the hands of the umpire and personally, probably the world The best umpire, he knows the rule books, he’s looked at every angle. I’d probably support his decision more than the emotional, passionate fans who are watching on the big screen from 100 meters away.”

Cummins, in a way, repeated the words of the former Australian captain. Ricky Ponting’s thoughts, “When I saw it live, I knew it was completely delivered to him, but from all the replays we’ve seen, I wasn’t sure what action happened after that,” he told the ICC. “I actually think some part of the ball touched the ground and it is the umpire’s interpretation that as long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before it hits the ground, he is out. That’s what must have happened. The umpires had an interpretation and I think that’s exactly what happened. It went probably six or eight inches off the ground and then there was another action.”

Leave a Comment