WTC Final – Was Cameron Green’s catch of Shubman Gill clean or not?

It was once again a great effort from the 6’7” Green. He had taken a high blinder with his right hand to dismiss Ajinkya Rahane in India’s first innings, and here he had to dive low to his left and drop the ball. A few milliseconds before the ball hits the turf. However replays show it was a close call.

Gill and his opening partner Rohit Sharma both saw that the ball was ending up on its way to the circle, so they waited and brought the TV umpire into play. Previously, controversial catches sent to the TV umpire were accompanied by a soft signal – out or not out – from the on-field umpire, and conclusive evidence was required to overturn the on-field decision. ICC has just abolished the soft-signal rule, and was the first instance of a TV umpire making the decision on a controversial catch himself. TV umpire in this case Richard Kettleborough The footage showed that Green had his fingers pressed under the ball.

However Rohit did not agree. As soon as “Out” flashed on the big screen at the Oval, “No” was heard from his mouth. Gill also made a tweet after the day’s play, using emojis to say that he did not believe it was a clean catch.

Replays on the broadcast lost a frame between Green catching the ball with his fingers under the ball and then throwing it in celebration. Did the ball in that frame – as he moved his hand – touch the turf? There appears to be no conclusive evidence to say one way or the other, and both of ESPNcricinfo’s match day experts – Sanjay Manjrekar And brad haddin – His opinion was that the right decision had been taken.

“When you see it in real time, it’s a very important thing to see and I’ve advocated to a lot of people about that when there’s a review of a low catch that goes to the TV umpire, they have to get a lot of angles. The meet and greet image is something that sets the cat among the pigeons,” Manjrekar said. “The audience looks at the frozen image and sees the leather touching the turf… In real time, it looked like a very spectacular catch, just a good pace. If you ask me if that’s a catch. I would say, yes, great catch.”

Haddin said, “I thought it was a clean catch and Green had his fingers under the ball. I like it in real time because if you slow it down a lot and look at different frames, it “Can create a lot of doubt. In this case, his fingers were under the ball and it was a clean catch.”

Former captain of Australia ricky ponting Also agreed with this interpretation that it was a fair catch. “When I saw it live, I knew it was completely delivered to him, but from all the replays we’ve seen, I wasn’t sure what action happened after that,” he told the ICC. “I actually think some part of the ball touched the ground and it is the umpire’s interpretation that as long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before it hits the ground, he is out. That’s what must have happened. The umpires had an interpretation and I think that’s exactly what happened. It went probably six or eight inches off the ground and then there was another action.”
Former Indian all-rounder and coach Ravi ShastriSpeaking after the day’s play, he said that two fingers under the ball often means the ball has touched the ground, but, in this case, he can certainly see why the umpire made the out decision. Is. “If I saw what I saw there as the third umpire, it is very difficult to say that the ball has hit the ground because you can see two fingers under it,” Shastri told Star Sports. “I have always believed that when the ball comes down with two fingers, the chances of the ball touching the ground are much higher, as opposed to three fingers, where three fingers come down to the ball. So I am there Cameron Green can see, there are two fingers. So it is difficult, but you go the umpire’s way, he has to be sure that the ball has touched the ground.

“And let’s not forget, he’s got big fingers, he’s a big fellow, and you can see the angle of the fingers, it’s under the ball. You’ve got the thumb up, the fingers wrapped around the ball. Richard Kettleborough, I can see where he’s coming from.”

Former Australian opening batsman and coach justin langer, on the same segment on Star Sports, agreed with Shastri’s assessment. “Richard Kettleborough is a world-class umpire, and whatever he does, he probably has to give out. The other thing I always find interesting is the initial reaction of the fielder. Cameron Green got down to it and was confident that he “It’s like it’s caught. Often if there’s any doubt, you can see it in the fielder’s body language.”
Former Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh and former Indian batsman Virender Sehwag Both said that the replays seen by the third umpire were inconclusive and it was wrong to give the batsman out based on those visuals. “Inconclusive evidence. When in doubt, it’s not out,” Sehwag tweeted. ,

It was the last action before the tea interval on the fourth day, when the players walked off the field after the massive Indian crowd booed them. Gill was out after scoring 18 runs in 19 balls and while chasing the target of 444 runs, his team’s score was 41 runs for 1 wicket in 7.1 overs.

Leave a Comment